Survivor series

The thing that is forever etched in my brain about being my current age is how long I have survived. Look at what happened since the 1950s. There was the long war in Southeast Asia and the military draft. There was the use of LSD and the problem of bad trips. I had a few of them and the paranoia associated with bad reactions to LSD makes you not want to go back there. There was living in a roach filled house in Cairo, Illinois and not knowing what the hell was happening to me. There was the flophouse in New York. And of course, everyone’s big fear was HIV/AIDS. And so for all the things that I have survived and learned from, I now award myself credit. What do you credit yourself for having achieved?

 

Leave a Reply

